IPL 2019 is set to begin from 23rd March. With a few days left for the most entertaining cricket league ever, let’s reminisce some of the unique yet almost forgotten records made in the tournament.

The Only KKR Centurion

The first ever match of Indian Premier League saw a spectacular show by Brendon McCullum in 2008. He blasted an unbeaten 158 off just 73 deliveries. It was a one-man show against Royal Challengers Bangalore. The blistering innings consisted of ten fours and thirteen sixes. This made Kolkata Knight Riders set a total of 222 for 3.

Image result for ipl 2007 Brendon McCullum kkr

Since the first day of IPL, till date, Brendon McCullum remains to be the only centurion for Kolkata Knight Riders. Source.

While chasing, it was a tough job for the home with an asking rate of minimum 11 from the beginning. RCB collapsed soon and could score only 82 in 15.1 overs. KKR that day won the game by 140 runs.

It was huge and one of the most remembered match in the history of IPL. But what followed isn’t something not to be proud of for Kolkata team. The second highest run scorer for KKR is Manish Pandey who scored 94 against Kings XI Punjab in 2014 IPL final to lead KKR to their second IPL titles.

The First Indian Centurion

The member of Virat Kohli’s victorious under 19 World Cup team, Manish Pandey became the youngest and the first Indian to script an IPL century. It was the last league match against Deccan Chargers at Centurion, South Africa in IPL 2009.

Image result for ipl  Manish Pandey 100

Manish Pandey scored a brilliant hundred to help RCB win the match by 12 runs. Source.

A victory would ensure Royal Challengers Bangalore’s place in the semi-final. His unbeaten 114 came off 73 balls and consisted of ten fours and four sixes. It took 115 Indian Premier League matches to get India’s first centurion of the league.

Member of Many Franchises

Parthiv Patel and Aaron Finch have been picked by more than five franchises since 2008. Parthiv started his IPL career with Chennai Super Kings and was with them till 2010. Next, it was Kochi Tuskers Kerala with whom Parthiv Patel played for just one season. In 2012 and 2013 he played for Deccan Chargers and Sunrisers Hyderabad respectively.

In 2014 Parthiv signed for the only franchise left from the Southern part of the country, Royal Challengers Bangalore. 2015 saw Parthiv Patel playing for one of the biggest franchises of the league, Mumbai Indians where he played till 2017. Then, he was signed by his old franchise Royal Challengers again for the next season. Thus Parthiv Patel played for six different franchises till date in IPL.

When everyone thought Parthiv Patel to be the unique record holder of this category, Aaron Finch broke Parthiv’s record of the number of franchises and made a new one. He became the first player to appear for seven different IPL teams.

The Australian star made his debut in IPL in 2010 to play for Rajasthan Royals. He played only one match for Rajasthan and was signed by Delhi for the next two seasons.  In 2013 Pune Warriors bought him where he finally managed to make his mark.

Following Pune’s withdrawal from IPL, Aaron Finch was ready to be signed once again by a news team. Sunrisers Hyderabad was quick to pick up the Aussie batter. After a decent showcasing in 2014, Finch moved to Mumbai Indians for 2015 season. The next season witness Finch playing for Gujrat Lions and played for them in 2016 and 2017. Then he was once again on move and picked up by Kings XI Punjab. Finch is not part of any of the IPL teams this year.

Hat-tricks of Yuvraj

While a lot know about Amit Mishra’s three hat-tricks in the IPL, a few remember about Yuvraj Singh’s unique feat. Yuvraj Singh has two hat-tricks to his name in the biggest cricket league. The first of the two came in Durban. RCB were going strong against Punjab with 80-3 in 11.4 overs. They seemed to be settled after early blows.

Yuvraj Singh removed Robin Uthappa and Jacques Kallis off the last two remaining balls. Then he came back in his next over and picked Mark Boucher to complete his hat-trick (3-22 in four overs). Although RCB (145/9) won the match by eight runs, this is one of the memorable moments in the IPL.

Next time Yuvi’s hat-trick came in the winning cause against Deccan Chargers. At first, Punjab scored 134/7 and then restricted the opponent to 133/8. Yuvraj scalped Herschelle Gibbs in the final delivery of the 12th over. Coming back for the next over, he picked wickets of Andrew Symonds and Venugopal Rao off two consecutive deliveries causing a middle-order collapse for DC.

Most Expensive Over

In 2011 IPL, Prasanth Parameswaran added a not so great record to his name. He became the bowler to concede the most expensive over in the history of the league.

The over as it went: (37 runs)

2.1 – Prasanth Parameswaran to Chris Gayle – SIX

2.2 – Prasanth Parameswaran to Chris Gayle – No ball + SIX

2.2 – Prasanth Parameswaran to Chris Gayle – FOUR

2.3 – Prasanth Parameswaran to Chris Gayle – FOUR

2.4 – Prasanth Parameswaran to Chris Gayle – SIX

2.5 – Prasanth Parameswaran to Chris Gayle – SIX

2.6 – Prasanth Parameswaran to Chris Gayle – FOUR

RCB ended up winning the match by nine wickets.

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the views of our Company, partners and other organizations. While any information provided on our blog is true to the best of our knowledge, we do not guarantee the veracity, reliability or completeness of the information presented. Any advice or opinion is purely for information purposes and should not be construed as an alternative to professional advice.




About Author

Comments are closed.